Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While for a long time Palean Baskets have been known to be originated/created by Palean people, but we need more evidence to exclusively tie it to Palean village or to the Lithos village. Authors attempts to tie the Woven basket to Lithos village or to exclusively tie it to Palean people falls flat due to lack of staunch evidence. Lack of evidence make the Author's argument look like slapdash or hastily put.

Firstly more stats & supporting facts are required to make us believe that woven baskets were created by Palean people. Facts like age calculation methods/techniques and their results that place the woven baskets to the era of Palean people. Research on Palean Litrature that supports the existence & usage of such distinctive woven baskets in Palean would also help in strengthening the ties between Palean village & these distinctive woven baskets. Some soil sample analysis would also make the argument of Palean baskets originating in Palean stronger.

Moreover similar research like age deduction, soil analysis, ancient litrature etc can be applied to the artifacts found on Lithos village & culture. That would give us facts to compare with Palean village and draw inferences based on that. If the evidence comes out stronger on the Lithos side then that can imply the origination of these distinctive woven baskets as lithos instead of Palean or vice versa.

Furthermore a deep dive is required for the mode of transports used by these ancient civilizations back then as lack of Palean boats does not infere absence of commuting between these two civilizations totally.We need more evidence on mode of transports used by both these civilizations. Like apart from crossing the river were there any other ways that could have facilitated commuting between the two villages a possibility. For example by road there could have been some way for communication between them for trade. That could easily explain the presence of these distinctive woven baskets in Litho's village as well.

Also some research is required on the climate conditions back then near the Brim River. Factors like heavy rains, soil erosion, high tide etc etc ...could also have caused the wash out of few artifacts from Pelican village to Lithos or vice versa. Therefore we need more evidence on such environmental factors to draw conclusions on the origination of these distinctive woven baskets.

Hence a lot of fact finding, digging and evidence gathering is required to infer origination of such distinctive woven baskets.