In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Recently, the state has started plans to devote an increased amount of funds to the Mason city river. Regarding this issue, the author of the argument concludes that cleaning up the river and increasing funds is sure to increase the use of the river for water sports. Though the underlying issue may have merit, because of a lack of relevant evidence, unaddressed assumptions, and vague terminology, the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

The author assumes that use of the river for water sports is due to the lack of cleaning, and funding the River gets. However, there is no such proof that funding will miraculously bring people to the river, let alone participate in water sports. It is plausible that the reason residents do not use the river for water sports is due to the fact that it is in close proximity to a waste and disposal plant, or near a chemical refinery. If this were true, the increased funds for the river would not coax people to use the river. Thus, the proposed solution will fail regardless.

In the statement from the author, surveys were analyzed and determined that water sports are among the favorite recreational activities. Surveys are unreliable, biased, and do not account for everyone in a population. If all residents put their input of their honest opinions on recreational activities at the Mason city river, then the surveys could be regarded as a more viable source of information. However, it is impossible to ensure that increasing funds is sure to increase the use of the river for watersports. Not everyone can participate or will choose to fish, swim, boat, etc. There are many other possibilities that cannot be factored.

Some merit can be given to the author's argument if he included evidence that people have agreed to use the river for water sports if funds increased. For instance, if people were to be held acountable by collecting a down payment from them, there is a higher chance that use for the river for water sports will increase if money is put into the river.

It casts no doubt that the argument the author states is flawed, due to numerous outlandish assumptions and flaws in reasoning to be an acceptable argument. More work is paramount in order to support the author's reasoning.