A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

Should a nation require all students to study the same national curriculum until college is a dire mistake. While there are some positives to uniform education, they are not strong enough reasons to adopt this recommendation. Forcing everyone in a nation to learn the same thing until college is a way to create unity, however, it is not the most beneficial for a nation.

A main drawback to the same education for all includes: limiting people and their choices, which is a violation of natural rights. Students deserve the right to choose what type of education they receive. The main question is, if a national curriculum was determined, who determines what every student must learn? This is a pivotal decision that must be made, because it can determine the future of a nation. Take our country, the United States of America for instance, we used to have one of the best education systems in the world. America is slowly declining in the education department because everyone is forced to learnt the same things until college. Sure, there is a minuscule amount of leeway in choosing classes, but there is no variety in education. According to a study from the University of Stanford, China, Sweden and England have 18%, 21%, and 24%, respectively better intelligence quotients than the rest of the world. While the US has stayed stagnant.

According to scientists, stagnation leads to death. Now death is extreme in this case, but a better interpretation is: stagnation will cause the US to fall further and further down the education totem due to many other countries improving and adapting their education. A big reason for the jump in IQ is due to the schools that specialize in certain fields such as: organic chemistry, electrical engineering, and such. This specialization allows students that have a passion for these fields to foster and grow their fondness of the field they are studying. Limiting a student to a set curriculum will only hold back education growth.

On the other hand, forcing all students in a nation to study the same curriculum will ensure that everyone will have a base knowledge of what is being taught. This will also allow the government to control what exactly is taught to students and omit certain things unwanted to be taught. While these are some good reasons to enforce a uniform national curriculum, they do not overrule the violation of our natural human rights of choice. There will not be enough variety in a nation that everyone knows the same thing.