In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The Argument is flawed in numerous ways, as it does not mention the reason for the river being polluted. One reason could be the industries located around the mansion river. Most of the industries in mansion city, prefer leaving the waste to the river as it is a cost cutting process. From the above stated argument it can be inferred that the government has a plan to clean up once, if that is true the river again becomes polluted over a period of time. Even if the clean up happens on the regular basis, the chemicals that are spread in the river will be injurious to health.

Even if the government starts clean up, During the coarse of the clean up the people would have went in search of another sport. So the government idea that the people of mansion city to come back to the river side for the recreational activities will be flawed. Additionally, The people of the mansion city before the clean up would have experienced serious health issues because of the chemicals present in the river, So even if the clean up happens, the people are aware that the industries waste will be continuously sent to the river. Because of this reason the people of the mansion city will always hold a negative impression on the plans of the government to clean up the mansion river.

Second, the government has just announced the plan. There is no guarantee that the evet will happen. As we have seen in politics, many make fake promises and they fail to do the job. So there are chances that they have announced these statements so that they can attract votes for the next election. Generally at these type of events they showoff as if they are doing a great job and disappear after elections. There is less chances that the government will hold on promises for the clean up of the mansion river.

Lastly, the people of the mansion city would have moved out to a different town. As the pollutants in the river has caused a serious effects on there health. And the water was no longer useful for there daily activites. So if the government plans to clean up the river, there are less chances that the people will visit the place again, with this the government should rethink in allotting money in there current budget.

Therefore there are less chances for the people of the mansion city to get engaged in the recreational activites. As the argument is flawed in numerous ways