In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above argument the author cites a survey to support a prediction that the use of mason river for water sports will surely increase after the river is cleaned up as there have been many complaints regarding the quality and smell of river water . the author also recommends the city government to devote more money in this year's budget to the riverside recreational activities. the argument, however, seems to be written without giving a proper thought to the issue. the assumptions on which the argument is based is questionable due to which it seems to be lacking logic.

firstly, the survey taken up by the residents which showed water sports as their favorite recreational activity does not provide concrete basis to support our conclusion. for example, water sports could have been people's second choice of interest but due to lack of options in the survey they had to choose water sports among their favorite recreational activity. therefore the survey might not represent residents true interest. there is also a possibility that the survey was taken up by the tourists or people who live along the river side and not the city residents. unless the survey is truly reliable and genuine, it cannot be used effectively to support the argument.

secondly, residents complaints about the river being polluted can be one of the reasons why it is not used for recreational activities, it is however not enough to back the argument. people might have complained about the dirty river even if they had no desire to use river for water sports. also there is a possibility that some parts of the river may be polluted and residents have complained about that particular region.

thirdly, cleaning up the river might not an ensure an increase in the use of river for water sports. although there might be an increase in the recreational activities we are not sure as to what sought of activities, some people might consider water sports as dangerous or might not have the proper equipments. for them activities like camping by the riverside, cycling, or just sitting and enjoying the scenic beauty might be an option.

although, it may be wise enough to clean up the river, the assumptions stated by the author lacks complete information and seems to be biased and therefore the argument proposed does not justify increasing the budget to riverside recreational facilities.