In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author argues that more money should be allocated to riverside recreational activities. The argument rests on a multitude of assumptions, which are neither stated nor verified thoroughly. Firstly, the argument assumes the validity of the surveys conducted. Furthermore, it has an unwarranted conviction that cleaning the river would imply increased recreational activities. Thirdly, the author has complete faith on the state government to complete the cleaning process in time. Lastly, the author believes that increasing the budget allocated to recreational activities would alleviate the problem.

There is an impertinent use of vague language in the first line of the argument, when it claims that "in surveys" the citizens of Mason City rank water sports highly on the scale of recreational activities. We do not know how recent these surveys are. It is probable that these surveys have been conducted much earlier than today, and hence have been rendered useless now. The rise of Michael Phelps led to a boom in interests in swimming in his home country when he won the Olympic Gold. Usain Bolt winning the gold medal was a similar sensation. It is possible that the aforementioned surveys were conducted at a time when there was a spike in the popularity of water sports. It is also possible that the surveys were conducted among the upper factions of the society who have frequent water parks and indulge in other aquatic recreational activities. To remedy this, there needs to be an analysis of the demographics of the people who took part in the surveys, as well as the time frame in which the surveys were conducted.

Secondly, there is a strong assumption that cleaning up the river would lead to more sports activity. There exists a diverse set of reasons why people would avoid a particular river for swimming, boating, fishing etc. Maybe the river is known to house dangerous reptiles along the shores, who are particularly active now. Maybe the river waters are too tumultous for swimming or boating. Often popular opinion about a particular activity can be shaped by some unusually negative event. It may be possible that someone drowned or was hurt badly - while performing recreational activities in the river - which led to people shying away from the river. The past history of fish breeding in the river waters should be looked at. Also, the movement of crocodiles and other large reptiles should be tracked along the shores, to understand the exact cause of inactivity.

Governments over make claims that they cannot practically deliver on. The cleaning of a river that has been stagnating since long seems to be an ambitious endeavor. Hence one should exercise caution while planning actions that depend on the success of this undertaking. It is possible that the river is being polluted by multiple industries and households. Negotiating with all these varied entities would like take a lot of time and encounter a lot of failures. Even with everyone's consent, cleaning a river is a painstaking process, that is effected over a long duration of time. Whats more, the access points to the river may have been blocked by numerous building sprouting here and there. This may cause the general public to avoid the river just because it is hard to reach from the city. Hence, even if all the other factors work out, allocating a lot of budget solely to the development of recreational activities may not pay a high dividend. There needs to be a listing of all roads leading to the river from the city and a congestion check on those roads. The environment around the river also needs to be checked for pollution. This implies that a more sensible approach to allocating the budget would be to spend some of the resources on the supplementary aspects also.

Following the above lines of reasoning, it is seen that the Author's conclusion is certainly premature. The argument can be drastically strengthened if all of the aforementioned suggestions are implemented and the evidences are collected.