In surveys Mason city residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, fising) among their favorite recreational activities. The mason river flowing through this city is rarely used for these pursuits, however and the city devotes less of its budget to maintaining the recreational facilities

For years there have been complaints from residence about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason river. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The stated assumption is that the river water for sport is sure to increase since the state has declared to clean up the Mason River and according to surveys Mason City residents like to play water games. But they do not do it much now because the water and the environment of the river is not good as the city park department devotes a small sanction for it in the budget. But now as the state government is taking it seriously, the city government can increase their budget for recreational activities in the river so that people can use their times more in the river.

The assumption is very unlikely to be proved unwarranted because the first sentence of the passage already mentioned that in surveys the people of the city has showed their interests on water sportrs. So, certainly it will increase if there is development of the river. And accordingly it would be indeed a very good plan for the city government to allocate more money for it.