"The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. 'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.' Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

The argument seems very straightforward though there are some issues to be checked to make it confirmatory. First of all the they need to find out if the amount (not only the percentage) of complaints regarding the local news not being broadcasted. On the other hand they also need to see what portions of people are happy about the broadcasting of national news. If this is really low then the argument gets more points. It is also needed to evaluate if there is other reasons of losing number of advertisements during late-night news program.

Again since now they broadcast more national news at late night they can try to increase national advertisements too and also compare which is more beneficial: getting more local ads or the national one. The argument depends on this comparison.

So if it is found that local viewers really want local news and weather then the argument has to be implemented. In that case naturally they will get more local advertisements. They can also try finding other options.