taking decision on movie customer decreasing

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company has concluded to increase budget share for advertising for reaching more people. The director made this decision based on a recent report. But, there are some assumptions made here. The following discusses the confusions:

Firstly, though fewer people attended Super Screen movies, we need to understand the total movie industry statistics. Maybe as a whole people are watching movies less. Maybe they are more inclined to short videos or documentaries. If as a whole movie customers increase and this specific super screen movie customers decrease we can infer about the lower quality of movie.

Secondly, the category of movies shown last year can be different than any other year. We need to compare customer attendance with the same category movies that was shown previously.

Thirdly, the percentage of reviewer may have increased in recent days. It can be a trend in common people to review more. That is why we can see a spike in positive reviews. But, here the report did not mention about the negative reviews. Commonly people tend to give overall positive reviews. But a negative review with good insight is more useful.

Fourthly, we need to consider the factor of second time arriving customers. People can watch a movie for the first time by chance. But if they are not coming back for the next movie it means they did not like the previous movie. So, this year super screen may get completely new set of customers. Which negates the fact that there is public lack of awareness about their movies. Perhaps, the adveritising is well reaching people, but the poor quality of movie is not attracting the old customers.

Thus, by analysing both positive and negative reviews and overall trend of movie industry we can come to a conclusion. The problem can lie in advertising. We will be confirmed by answering questions stated above. Otherwise, the problem can be in the quality of movies.