a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

I disagree with the statement that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Every student is different. Some students are good at maths, some are good at arts. They should be given the opportunity to study what they like most.

Many students like computer programming. But they can not acquire deeper knowledge for shortage of time. National curriculum burdened with courses from all the disciples do not spare any time. As a result, that student concerned about the grades, forget his/her passion about programming.

If that student was given extra time and support to learn his desired subject, he/she would have made wonder. But now he/she is unwilling to study at all rather studying programming.

However, there should be a threshold in similarity of curriculum where students must study basics. For example, basic math, language, science, accounting, finance. It should be a bit more than introduction. So that, they dost hesitate to encounter these topics in real life. But, then again, these common courses should not be any burden.

Thus, it is best to design courses for each student adapted to their strength and passion along with some core common courses that introduce the vastness of knowledge to all students