business manager decision about program

In the memorandum, the business manager of the television station has assumed some key factors to be true for his argument and concluded that increasing time slot for weather and local news to its former level will avoid losing any further advertising revenues.

Firstly, manager assumed that increasing time to national news and lessening that of weather and local news is the main problem. But, most of the complaints received were concerned with weather and local news, not with national news. That means, weather and local news content is not upto the mark. Viewers have no complaints about the quality of national news, nor about the increased time.

Secondly, local business that used to advertise during late-night program have canceled their advertising contracts. There maybe two reasons for this. As the television station is receiving complaints, it is also losing customers. Local businesses, being aware of that, are not finding good returns in advertising. Or, the businesses are not running well. So, the decided to cut off investment in advertisements. There is no evidence that local businesses do not like national news.

Thus, we need evidence about national news being complained for poor quality to strengthen the argument.

Rather, without evidence if the manager restores the time to its former level, it will lose more revenues. Because, if it is true that weather and local news contents are not attracting customers, increasing time for the same would repel more viewers. Consequently, losing further advertising revenues. Finally, the manager should check the quality of each show and improve where necessary.