“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The author of the newsletter is advicing investors to invest their money in the new company, Techcorporation as it is his conclusion that it is the best pick for investment in that term. His conclusion is based on the premise that Techcorporation has been approbated by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider and on the results of a consumer survey that indicates that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with their current satellite television provider and would switch to another provider if the option was available. However, to truly evaluate the credibility of the author's advice, three main questions need to be answered.

Firstly, just because Techcorporation is approved by the FTA, does it make the fact that they will be successfully able to compete on a profitable level with the current service provider certain? It is possible that the FTA approved Techcorporation because their satellite program was compliant with the rules developed by the FTA. But their satellite could be compliant with the rules and still lack the technological advancements to match or exceed the quality of the current satellite provider. If this were to be true, Techcorporation would not be able to fulfill te expectations of the author and his advice would prove to be a false one.

Second, we need to know for sure, is the consumer survey that the author is using reliable enough to back his advice up, and that how many people exactly responded to the survey anyway? Perhaps, only upto a hundred responses were collected and that make the specious statistic of over eighty percent amount to only about eighty people, which is not enough to make a generalized conclusion about the overall tendency of the customers. It is also possible that the survey itself is not a reliable source of information and that their results could be adulterated and inaccurate. If either of the above happens to be true, author's advice does not hold water.

Moreover, even if we assume that the satellite technology developed by Techcorporation is sound enough and so are the results of the survey used, the question that is still unanswered is that does Techcorporation have a good enough business model to reach breakeven with the heavy costs involved with satellite technology and to then actually become profitable? There is a possiblity that their marketing, customer service or some other department lacks the efficiency required to keep up with the current service providers and hence prevent the company from becoming profitable. If this happens to be true, investing in Techcorporation would not make money for the investors proving the author's advice false.

As it stands right now, author's advice is not a reasonable one and cannot be trusted easily. The above questions would needed to be answered in order to clearly evaluate how good the advice is.