Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Being famaous is a sweet curse. With the fame and recognition that comes with being a public figure, comes the responsibility to keep inspiring people who look up to you. The prompt suggests that sports and movie stars have an 'obligation' to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them and that it is okay to expect them to fulfill this compulsion of a responsibility in return for the copious amounts of money they earn. I mostly disagree with the ideology for two main reasons.

To begin, regardless of the amount of money anyone earns, noone earns it for free without putting in efforts. Sports and movie stars alike, put in a lot of hard work and difficult hours to produce performances that they do and the money they earn is hence a fruit of their work that they fully deserve. For instance, let us say the judge of a supreme court is criticized for earning he amount of money that judges generally do, all for just sitting around and passing judgements without having to do a lot of work. If he is hence expected to do other social activities as an 'obligation', even though the social activity being positive in nature, is not fair to be forced upon the judge as he, in some way has worked hard enough for his money and does not need to justify it by any other means. So similarly, it would be unfair to expect as an obligation from the stars that earn millions of dollars to bare the societal responsibility of always behaving as role models for people only to justify their salaries.

Furter, even though famous and successful, these stars are still just nrmal human beings in their personal space and time. As a result, they are bound to make mistakes from time to time and are hence often criticized based on the fact that many young people look up to them. For instance, a movie star enjoying a series of successful box office hits is still a human and might make mistakes like getting himself/herself involved in a drug addiction. Even though a terrible thing to be involved in, it is still a mistake that they themselves might also regret. An unfamous person would not have to face the plethora of judgements and media trials from across the world but it is considered okay for these stars just because they are looked up to. Therefore, it is morally wrong and a violation of their personal space to expect them to always be in the best of their behaviors.

While I agree that having a role model behave in a negative manner quite frequently can have disastrous impact on a society, it still does not fully justify expecting from these stars to bare the responsibility in return for the money they earn.

To conclude, it is not an easy question to answer as both sides of the coin have significant weight but I would still take side with preserving the fundamental rights of these stars. No amount of money should make any sports or movie star 'obliged' to behave in a certain, unnatural way that they do not want to.