“A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets.”

In this argument, the author suggests that to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should launch an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety. However, the suggestion suffers from several flaws and is therefore unwise and unconvincing as it stands, albeit it may appear plausible at cursory glance.

To begin with, the author sheds light on a ten-year nationwide study which indicates in this span of years the bicyclists reported wearing helmet increased from approximately 35% to 80%, while the number accidents caused by bicycling has increased by 200 percent. The study brings out the fact that there are now a greater number of people using helmets than before. In contrast to this, the author claims increased in percentage of accidents caused due to bicyclist. Even if this baseless claim is considered true, are the accidents caused only due to the bicyclists aren't there other factors that can cause this increase in of the accidents. For example, the condition of the roads might have not been taken care of and due to this the roads are not safe for riding bicycles and caused more traffic. In such a case we cannot blame the bicyclist for the increased accidents, instead it is the governments’ fault. The author need to provide more detailed information regarding the actual cause of accidents.

In addition to this, the author asserts a baseless assumption of bicyclists taking more risk as they are wearing helmets. The assumption is weird and does not have any substantial support. There is no relation between wearing helmet and taking more risks. Moreover, if anyone were to ride bicycle wearing or without wearing helmets, they would ride it with same consciousness and skills, helmets do not play any role in the fashion of riding bicycles and increasing risks of accidents.

Furthermore, the author fails to answer a serious question that, do people really use bicycles even today? As the study mentioned above is a ten-year long study, perhaps more of the population have started using cars and motor-cycles as the advancement in technology and increase in the development have caused a decrease in the price of cars and motor-cycle than what it was 10 years ago. In such a case, launching a program oriented towards factors other than the use of helmets that causes serious injuries from bicycle accidents would not be useful, as most of the population does not use bicycles. Launch of such a program would cause financial loss to the government as a lot of money would be needed for this program. The author needs to provide information and statistical data related to the number of bicycle users.

To conclude, the author seems hurried to jump to the conclusion based on a series of problematic assumptions. To strengthen the argument, further investigation and analysis are needed, as the author is not able to justify his stand and does not present us with relevant support to his stand.