"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

In the memo, the author contends that Zeta is better suit for the new building project than Alpha for two reasons. On one hand, though with the same floor plans, Zeta spent more than Alpha on the construction, the maintenance cost and the energy consumption of the Zeta building are both lower than those of the Alpha building. On the other hand, with a stable workforce, Zeta is better. Convincing though the reasons may sound, additional information is needed to verify the recommendation.

To begin with, we need evidence to assess the total amount of money spent on the construction, maintenance and the energy. We cannot safely claim whether Alpha’s building costs more than Zeta’s only from the percentage given in the memo. If the construction cost is large enough, and compared with that, energy consumption and maintenance cost are so little that they can be ignored, then Alpha’s total cost is less than Zeta. On the contrary, if the expense for maintenance and energy consumption take up most percentage of the construction expense, then the recommendation is weakened.

Besides, granted that Zeta spent less money than Alpha on the building with better quality and electronic machines in the building, whether the environment in the two places are the same requires additional information. Considering the temperature, humidity, wind and other factors, these factors may contribute to the high cost of maintenance. If additional evidence emerges suggesting that there is more rain in the place where Alpha’s building is constructed, then of course the maintenance of Alpha’s building costs more. Evidence such as the number of lights is also needed. The same floor plan doesn’t necessarily indicate the same decoration and the same number of lights utilized in the building. With different materials and decorations, no one can assert that it is the construction quality that distinguishes the two companies.

Finally, if Alpha’s building exactly consumes more energy with low quality, more evidence is needed concerning the future strategy of both companies. The author arbitrarily equates the stable workforce with better service. Although Alpha changes its employees more frequently than Zeta, it is likelihood that Alpha company will dismiss those who don’t excel at the construction and hire more skilled workers to enhance the building quality and reduce the energy consumption. At the same time, if some workers who are lazy and poor in the technology still work in the Zeta without worrying about being dismissed, we can conclude that Alpha will quickly catch up with Zeta and even outweigh Zeta sooner or later.

To sum up, when it comes to whether Zeta can do a better job in the new building project depends on further information mentioned above. Only when we can fully and successfully get the additional evidence can we advocate the recommendation.