"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

In the newsletter, the author maintains that it is likely that the company’s sales will decrease considering the survey of respondents who have a desire to reduce their intake of fats and cholesterol. Also, the author suggests that stockholders should sell their shares and it is not wise to continue investing in this company. Convincing though the suggestions may sound, lots of questions remain unanswered concerning the suggestions. Without correct answers, is it hasty to claim the suggestion should be ensured.

To begin with, does a desire to reduce fats and cholesterol indicate buying less high cholesterol food? If the respondents lie to the survey for the sake of being regarded as healthy persons, it is not reliable that their purchase on high-fat products will decrease. Also, does the respondents surveyed can represent the whole customers? If the survey researchers focus more on people who care about their intake of fats, then this survey is not convincing enough to decide the real desire of all the citizens. Besides, if the desire is true, it still needs to be answered whether they can distinguish low-fat products and high-fat products successfully. Without conspicuous words in the bottle, people might not easily get the low-fat foods they need, so that the sales of Old Dairy Industries can still keep increasing at the same level.

In addition, although many food products of Old Dairy Industries contain high fat and cholesterol, whether other kinds of food are low-fat products of the same company is unanswered. It is possible that Old Dairy company produces both low-fat and high-fat foods for customers to choose from. If low-fat products are more popular and the company can get more profits from those foods, the sales are not likely to diminish as thought by the author and the profits may rise. If the low-fat products have few profits and most of the profits are attributed to the high-fat foods, then the company profits will greatly fall.

Moreover, whether investors should go on investing in this company depends on the strategy of the company in the future. Granted that the sales and profits are diminishing now due to the desire to intake low-fat products, we cannot deny that the company will transform their products to low-fat products and gain its popularity quickly. If so, this company deserves more investment and stockholders will obtain higher profits in the future. On the contrary, the manager of Old Dairy Industries is unwilling to change their products, the advice in the newsletter is of great significance for those investors. What’s more, it remains unanswered whether the desire of the respondents will be changed to high fat products. When new scientific findings reveal that high-fat foods exert little negative influence on people’s health, we can fully expect the increase profits of this company.

In conclusion, whether the investors are supposed to go on investing on this company should base on the answers to the questions mentioned above. Without correctly answering those questions, hastily drawing a conclusion that all investors should stop their investment is unconvincing.