Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays Internet is playing a vital role in our daily life. Workers in the company attend online meetings frequently with other colleagues and managers. Students could participate in online courses and hand in homework assigned by their teachers. Compared with public transportation, I believe it is much more crucial for governments to spend money to improve Internet access.

To begin with, Internet is increasingly significant in everyday life. With Internet, people can successfully keep contact with others all over the world. For big companies, trade could be made easily and efficiently using the Internet. For instance, one of the biggest toy manufacturers in Yiwu, China usually receives thousands of deals from around the world. It is not necessary for buyers in the UK to take a time-consuming trip to China. Instead, they can utilize the Internet to have an online meeting through which they can talk about prices and some other details to make a deal. Besides, young students can effectively search information via the Internet to fulfill the tasks. Thus, measures to improve Internet access could be attached more importance.

Secondly, people gradually use less public transportation. In this constantly changing world, it is a waste of time to travel to distant places taking public transportation. It has been surveyed that nearly forty percent of managers do not usually travel to different countries to sell products. For example, the CEO of Apple, Jim Cook introduces the new Iphone through the Internet every year. People all over the world can watch this meeting online and they can get the latest information at the same time. Furthermore, much more people are not willing to take public transportation in that time is much more precious for them. Thus, public transportation is not as necessary as imagined.

In addition, money is limited for the government and it is critical to make the best use of the money. Building facilities to improve the Internet will cost less money than the construction of railways or roads. In order to enable people in remote areas to have easy access to Internet, several towers and pipelines can definitely bring them Internet, while railways and roads entail numerous people and materials to achieve this goal. For example, roads towards the village could bring convenience to those people, but even though roads are built, those villagers will be reluctant to frequently use the roads, maybe once a month since they have to pay a lot for the petrol. Then a great deal of money spent on this project is wasted.

In conclusion, although public transportation could provide people in different locations with easier access to the cities, government could not profit much from this investment considering the fact that money is limited, Internet access costs less money and bring much more profit and benefits.