"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The opponent advocates ways to revitlaize the city of Transopolis through the construction of several factories in the unoccupied areas present . The opponent cites a previous urban undertaken in the same city Transoplois,ten years ago, as his main argument .This supposed renewal program aims to reduce crime rate and increase the property tax which were stagnant before . However before this argument can be properly evaluated , two specific pieces of evidence must be provided .

Any evidence comparing the opposite ends of the city must be given for us to accurately come to a conclusion . In other words , information regarding how analogous the two ends of city are : are they comparable enough to make broad generalizations must be cited . Take for instance , the side of town where the builidng was constructed , had multiple water sources next to it , a national highway next to it . Realising the untapped potential , the ‘comprehensive urban renewal program’ acted on this , and eventually leading to its good . We arent given any evidence whatsoever regarding the current condition of the other side of town , it may not be suitable for Industrilisation at all , the soil quality might be so bad that buildings cannot be constructed . If either of these two scenarios has merit , then the conclusion drawn from it , significantly weakens the argument drawn from intially

Additionally , evidence of the decline in crime rate before and after the ‘Industrilisation’ must be stated .There a multitude of assumptions made in the paragraph . Perhaps, the crime rate in the vicinity - before the project had taken place- had been severly under-reported. As stated in the argument , the locality didnt have a substantialresidential population . This might be a reason why the crime rates even though high , were shown to be much lesser in the official logistics. With the ‘industrilisation’ , more population has driven to the locality and now people are more prone to report crime . We do not know the true nature of these statistics .Furthermore , the locality wouldnt have had a police station prior to the program , thus reinstating the aforementioned under-reported cases in the area.If the above case is true , than the argument does not hold water .

With regards to the housing situation , we arent so sure about the condition of living in these localities at all . For a locality to be associated with good residence , there must be supporting amenities around it . A good school , hospital and proper law and order enforced around the neighbourhood . On the side of the city , incidently , most of these amenities were available pre hand . This might not be the case on the other side of town and hence may not hold good

In conclusion , the argument as it stands now , is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions.More evidence is clearly required to come to a general consensus and if all the evidences asked above are mentioned ,then we can maybe start with the program