There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The prompt supports the idea that the relaxed pace of life in small towns, such as Leeville allows greater and healthier lives than those of big cities, such as - Masonton. Although the author has provided certain logics behind his conclusion, however, many logical flaws are inflicted within the assumptions of behind the argument. These conjectures are only to be mentioned here followed by sufficient clarifications.

To begin with - the author believs that the workers hed had mentioned above are working in the respective environments of their workplaces. But he ignored the chances the surroundings of the worker where they live. It can be seen that the workers in the business of larger cities are living in small towns, such as - Leeville, where the environment may not be suitable enugh for a comfortable living. It can be the case that the workers who are taking the sick leaves are not suffering excatly from any environmental issues. They might suffer from other diseases they have inferited from their ancestors. Apart from this also - how can we ignore the possiblity of the workers to escape their duties in disguise of sick leaves only to serve their other purposes; only if they are honest as heaven! These cases can easily preclude any chances of environmental issues behind the downpolay of the health if the workers who are taking sick leaves. If any of the mentioned points can precipitate truth then the author has to rethink before making any judgement on the discrepency of environmental effect on human health in bi and small towns.

Second point to make is that - the author judges the health the of the habitants of both the cities with respect to the number of doctors available in those areas. He assumed that as the number of physician in the Leeville town is less than that of the Masonton town so the average health of people of the former one will be much more healthier than the latter one. But he is forgetting the possiblities of other perspectives. What if the physicians are less in number because of less opportunites to learn and less rooms and sources available for growing? It can be the case that all the physician of town or city always practice the treatment of their patients. In many cases those physician conduct research on their subjective filed. To do this kind of empirical works one need to have good availability of resources and opportunities - which they might lack in the small towns and get in plenty in the big towns. As a result they are more reluctant to stay there in the small towns. Apart from this - only counting the number of physicians in a certian village might to come to the conclusion of the average healths of that place might not hold firmness as there is a chance in those towns that people might oversimplify many things which the bigger town peoples do not. For example - the bigger town people might take consideration to consult with doctors even if they are caught with the least of colds. Whereas the small town people might be reluctant to consult to doctors even if they are suffering from any severe diseases; as in many cases can be seen.

Third conjecture of the author is to mention that - he belives that the higher average of Leeville conducts healthier environemnt than that of Masonton. What if most of the residents of that small town is aged less than 30, contrary to the people of the Masonton - having aged above 50? If that is the case the it is obvious that the people in Masonton will have lower average longevity of lives as they are much more older and will be more susceptable to death in frequent years. On other hand - the people of the small town are relatively younger than the Msonton ones, for which they are will live longer if in general it is seen. Now, does that mean that the environment of the Leeville is healthier than that of the Masonton. Obviously not. It might be false gesture to believe the conclusion from this evidences. Anotehr prosepect is that - if the number of people in the Leeville town is smaller than the that of the Masonton and those people aged around or above 50 or 60 then it will result in more average age old compared to the Masonton ones. So, that is also a critical flaw in the assumption to make.

So, looking at all the points and factors aforementioned, it can be safely deduced that - sufficient evidences and proper answers of the questions, asked in the essay are needed to come to a concrete conclusion.