There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the prompt, the author recommends that people who are seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities in small towns. The author provides the reason that, the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity as compared to the hectic life of big cities. The evidences given to support this reason are about number of sick leaves taken by the workers and about the proportion of physicians. But, in my opinion, the argument is based on several unstated assumptions and the author should answer the following three questions before the recommendation is considered.

To begin, is the less number of sick leaves by the workers of Leeville exclusively due to them being healthier than the workers in Masonton? There is no direct correlation between the number of ‘sick leaves’ and the health of the community as ‘sick leaves’ can be taken for a lot of different reasons. For example, if a person for the large city is injured or suffers an car accident, she might take a sick leave from the workplace. This will add to the count of ‘sick leaves’ in the report, but it has no direct relation to the health of the person. Another example might be that, some dishonest people might be taking sick leaves for other purposes than sickness. But even here, the count of ‘sick leaves’ increases without a direct impact in the health of the community.

Furthermore, is the ratio of physicians to citizens a quantitative factor to measure the health of citizens? It might be the case that, there is lack of availability of physicians in Leeville and thus, the ratio is very low. On the contrary, Masonton being a big city, might attract physicians from around the country and thus maintains its physician to citizen ratio. Less number of physicians is a town does not translate into a healthier population. In contrast, as there is only one physician, there might be a time when she is not able to handle the entire load of patients and thus, the health metric of the town declines due to inadequate medical facilities.

Moreover, does higher average age of a community signify better health of the population? It might be the case that, Leeville is a town with more number of retired and old people living, thereby increasing the average age of the town. While the younger generation may have ventured out to Masonton, for work or education. Thus, the average age of Masonton is lower. Average age can never be used to judge the health metric of a community as it just provides a overall number without actually examining the subtle nuances in lifestyle choices or health infrastructure.

In conclusion, the current state of the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unjustified assumptions. If the author is able to answer the aforementioned questions and is able to provide concrete evidence, perhaps in the form of research study, then the viability of the the recommendation to move to smaller communities can be fully evaluated.