There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of this memo makes a few bold assumptions while stating his opinion. There are many questions which come to mind which are left unanswered, making this argument weak. There could be a number of other possible reasons as to why the citizens of Leeville have better health and greater longevity than the citizens of Masonton.

The author, while making his assumptions fails to produce any evidence whatsoever, which could justify his argument. A recent study showing the health and longevity of life of the citizens of both cities, with varying ages, would be required to back this argument. The author fails to recognize other possibilities of the health of the citizens in Leeville being better than those in Masonton. One such explanation could be, since Masonton is a very hectic and busy city, it may have a low air quality index, due to large number of vehicles on the roads. Whereas, for Leeville, which is a smaller town may have lesser number of vehicles, cause less pollution and in turn having citizens with better health.

The author also makes an assumption about the number of physicians in both the cities. Does the number of physicians in a city affect the health and longevity of a citizen’s life? Leeville, which is a smaller city in comparison to Masonton, might not have more than one physician, but that certainly does not mean, that the health of the citizens is better because of the presence only one physician. The health and longevity of life of a population in a city is certainly not proportional to the number of physicians in that city.

The author states that the average age of the citizens in Leeville is higher than that of Masonton. This could be because many old people settle down in small, peaceful towns or cities contrary to the younger generations who are more drawn to the opportunities big cities provide. This could be another reason for the difference of superficial longevity of life in the two cities of Leeville and Masonton.

In conclusion, the milieu of a citizen is not the only factor contributing to him. There could be several factors such as their daily habits, genetic disorders, etc. Hence the author should rethink the argument, and strengthen it by adding more evidence to the health and longevity of life of the two cities of Leeville and Masonton.