There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the argument recommends that in order to having a more wholesome life, and as a resultant increasing the life expectancy, That would be much better for people to choose smaller towns for living; however, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of assumption all of which can be challenged in one or another way.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the one of the most consequential factors that may threaten our health is the place where we live, although that is entirely important, there are some other major factors which are completely out of our control. For example, we are now familiar with some of the hazardous illnesses inherited genetically. The vivid thing is that it does not matter where you live, whether in a suburban area or a cramped district. Like some other precarious maladies that can be readily transferred such as viruses and parasites. This is obvious that occurrence of these happenings is not related to the living territory.

The second problem with this argument is that the writer assumes that there is always a higher chance of longevity in little places, due to the lack of dangerous problems , however, one of the most fundamental problems in rural areas and smaller cities is the deficiency which exist about the medical equipments. In addition to mentioned problem, lack of adept forces in such areas could bring about risky consequences for the dwellers. That’s the reason why many of the people occupying in those areas have to always commute to larger cities in order to be cured by more sophisticated facilities.

The other important problem is that the writer would have us believe that having a lower number of medical personnel is the hallmark of a healthy community which is not a wise attitude as, it is vivid that enormous population require more well-informed specialists like physicians, dentists, and others in order to meet the demand of it selves. Surely, the high number of doctors can lead to have a more prudence in the society about the possible ways of contracting to the illnesses, and the appropriate methods which are fruitful for keeping ourselves fit.

In brief, the conclusion made by the writer cannot be taken to be correct since, as it was illustrated in the body paragraphs, it depend on a number of assumptions each of which is vague. The conclusion can only be ratified if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.