The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the west Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighbouring Eastern carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. To preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built.

In the letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News, the author comes to a conclusion that: "To preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built." But, the argument presented by the author is brimming with unsubstantiated assumptions and loopholes. The argument stays unwarranted until the argument gets backed up by strong and empirical shreds of evidence.

Illuminating loophole number 1: "Are sea otters and tufted groundhogs comparable?" In other words, the lifespan, adaptability, food intake, etc differ from one animal to other. For instance, sea otters may require just a ton of fish every day, but tufted groundhogs may need way more. The answer to the above question is unobtrusive from the above argument. As long as the author doesn't corroborate the argument with necessary substantiation, the argument stays invalid and flaccid.

Brightening up loophole number 2: "Are the climatic conditions in West Lansburg and Eastern Carpenteria similar?" In other words, the former may be cooler than the latter. For example, tufted groundhogs require higher temperatures to survive with salubriousness, sea otters may require cold climatic conditions to survive well. In simple words, sea otters might have declined because of the increase in temperatures in Eastern Carpenteria. Since the answer to the above questions is not evident, the author has to adduce necessary pieces of evidence.

Igniting loophole number 3: "How come the author is so sure that not building a road ensures a healthy environment?" In other words, a healthy environment doesn't just rely on building a road, it does depend on several other factors such as air pollution rate, fluorocarbons, deforestation, etc. The answer to the above question is obfuscate. So, until the answer is not supported with necessary shreds of premises, the argument stays unwarranted.

In conclusion, preserving the region's biodiversity and brimming a healthy environment may be possible if the road is not allowed to be built. But, the argument stays loopholed until the author corroborates his answers to the above-asked questions with statistical and empirical shreds of evidence.