Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the author concludes that future research on determining how the people of the Island of Tertia rare their children should be carried out via the interview-centred method. He arrives as this conclusion based on some evidence, such as the recent result obtained from an interview conducted with the children living in Island of Tertia, and by invalidating Dr. Field's observation. These premises, if true, might render the claim valid. However, there are three basic questions which the author needs to answer in order to increase the persuasiveness of his claim.

Firstly, are the children which Dr. Field observed twenty years ago in the Island of Tertia similar with the children Dr. karp carried out his interview on? It is possible that the twenty years gap between the two findings have posed considerable changes in the behaviour of the children of Island of Tertia. There might have been an overall change in most of the things that determine how children are being rared. For instance, children in tertia might indeed be rared by an entire village when Dr. Field carried out his observation. However, over the years, the people began giving birth to children that are not amenable to the entire village. This might lead to the adoption of another method of raring the children, and might not even necessarily be that the childrens are now being rared by their parents. It might be that following a change the children's behaviour, the children of Tertia are now being rared elsewhere outside the village. If any of these proves to be true, then the children Dr. Karp used in his interview might not be the same, or have the same traits as the ones Dr. Field studied in his observation, and this significantly weakens the author's claim.

Secondly, are the interviewed children honest in their responses to the interview questions? It is possible that the children of Island of Tertia in which Dr. Karp and his team interviewed are not being honest in their responses to the questions posed. Even if they are being honest, we cannot say for sure that they actually understand the weight of the questions they are being asked, or that they know the consequences of their answers. The children might be too young or ignorant to accurately answer questions in the interview. It is also possible that they felt pressure to answer these questions in the most positive ways they can so as to impress the interviewers. It is also possible that the questions being asked in the interview are leading questions that prompt the children to answer in a manner that suits Dr. Karp's research. If any of these proves to be true, then the author's claim is significantly weakened.

Finally, does talking about parents directly mean children are being rared by their parents? This might not be the same thing. Children might talk about their parents because they miss them or just felt the need to talk about them, not necessarily because they are rared by them. For instance, some children might currently be thinking of their parents at the time the interviewers came to ask questions about the research, and the children might just continue to divulge details about what they are currently thinking about. If this proves to be true, then the author's argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the author's claim that future research will be more definitive by using the interview method is plausible. However, to increase the cogency of the claim, the author needs to properly answer the three questions outlined above.