Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia.

Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid.

Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While Island of Tertia appears to be rich in bonding, it is quite unclear about the rearing culture in this Island. While few surveys were conducted which reveal ambivalent results, it appears that these surveys are based on no clear evidence. On pedantic analysis of the survey conducted by both the anthropologists, there are few questions that both the anthropologists are required to answer for a more comprehensive and reliable outcome.

In the Observation-centred approach of Studying the Culture used by Dr. Field, he concludes the rearing nature of the children based on the mere observation. Here, it is pertinent for him to answer the accuracy of his observation. For instance answers to the Questions like "Was there any environmental or climatic impact on the Island during the time of his observation?" or Questions on the extent of the observation done shall be answered like "the extent of time spent by the children with their biological parents during the day as well as at night" shall be answered. Considering that it is an Island, there may be water flooding during particular seasons or in certain climatic conditions and so people live in a closed and confined spaces there by having a greater bond with each other. On answering such questions, a concrete conclusion can be made on the validity of the observation-centred approach.

Then, Dr. Karp conducts his survey on a similar topic as that of Dr. Field, but the outcomes are quite distinct. Dr. Karp concludes that the children spend more time talking about their bilogical parents and so the conclusions of Dr. Field's observation-centred approach stand invalid. While Dr. Karp's contentionsmight be true basis the fact that the other research was done 20 years ago, certain questions on the number of children interviewed, and the time of intwerview must be answered. If the interview restuls are based on the results of 2 or 3 Children, then such outcome of the interview shall not speak for the all the children in the Island. Also, if the children are spending mroe time with their biological parents during that period of time due to climatic or environmental conditions it is obvious that they will talk more about their biological parents as they spend more time with them. Thus, only on answering such questions, the validity of Dr. Karp's work can be concluded.

Finally, it is stated that anthropologist recommend to obtain accurate results in this field, only interview-centred methods shall be employed. While, this is a sound approach to conduct a research there may be flaws and drawback using this method and only after answering to such backdrops the conclusion the apt method shall be made. It is true that the two different researches provided ambivalent results, yet answers to questions like the population of inteview, types of questions asked, number of questions, etc are to be answered before finialising on the method of research ot suvey. On proving to be sound method, it might actually be possible to obtain accurate results.

Finally, it is wise to answer the questions stated in the above paragraphs before coming to a conclusion. While both the research results were based on valid techniques, the information is rife of holes and assumptions that require many questions to be answered.