Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the article, Dr. Karp concludes that his interview-centric method is better suited to studying child-rearing traditions in Tertia and other islands compared to observation-centric method adopted by Dr. Field twenty years ago. He supports his argument by mentioning that children talk more about their biological parents when interviewd, thus invalidating Dr. Field's observation that the children in Tertia were reared by an entire village equally. However, this conlusion is based on certain unstated assumptions, which must be carefully evaluated.

Firstly, the research by Dr. Karp is conducted twenty years after Dr. Field's research. During this long period of time, there might have been external influences which changed the culture of the people in Tertia. Maybe the children were raised by the entire villege twenty years ago, but that changed gradually owing to the influence of outside world. In that case, we cannot conclude that Dr. Field's observation-centered method is faulty compared to Dr. Karp's interview-centered method, since both methods came up with correct conclusions based on the time when they were conducted.

Secondly, Dr. Karp assumes that the people whom he and his team interviewed represent the entire population of Tertia. There could have been sampling bias when they choose the people to be interviewed. It could have happened that most of people that they interviewed were raised by their own biological parents, but that might not be true for the rest of the population. Majority of the children might still be raised by the entire population.

Thirdly, it is also a possibilty that children tend to speak more about their biological parents even though they are raised equally by all the villagers. Dr. Karp inherently assumes that if the children are raised by all the villagers, then they do not speak more about their biological parents. But, this need not necessarily be true. The children might still be able to distinguish thier biological parents from rest of the villagers, and maybe that is why the spoke more about them in the interview. Concluding that Dr. Field's observation that children are raised equally by all the villagers is invalid just because they spoke more about their biological parents when interviewed is based on above stated assumption, which may not be true.

Therefore, we can see that even if the article seems convincing about the superiority of interview-centered method compared to observation-centered method, the argument seems to be based on several unstated assumptions. The conclution might not necessarily hold true if these assumptions were to be false.