"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Author lauds the Adams Realty over Fitch's Realty. On the basis of number of agents each realty has employed and the revenue of each of the real estates, the author opines of Adam's realty being superior. However, on the grounds that Adam's Realty has more number of Real estate agents than Fitch's Realty, he cannot assert that Adam's is superior than Fitch's because it would be inaccurate to assume without a valid data and without considering the performance and efficiency of the employees/agents in the firms. Fitch's Realty might have employed agents who have had a substantial work experience in the field of dealing with real estate before and hence Fitch's realty can function with as many as 25 agents and compete with Adam's or it may hold true that Fitch's Realty might be dealing with selling properties of high rates resulting in lesser number of clientele as compared to that of Adam's.

The author has also mentioned a comparison of previous year's revenues, again with Adam's revenue superseding Fitch's. However, the data is incomplete. Fitch's realty may have emerged later than Adam's and hence, Adam's stakes are high in market or Fitch's Realty might just purely be dealing with buying and selling of properties and Adam's must have expanded it's business to construction, building shopping arcades or diversified, with it's branches in various locations, in turn contributing to it's higher revenue.

Moreover, the author's experience of selling his homes with Fitch's and Adam's dates ten years back. The data as old as this cannot be used to justify the superiority of Adam's over Fitch's reality at present since, Fitch must have progressed over these ten years becoming a leading firm of the town and a competitor of Adam's. Therefore, in my opinion, superiority should be ascertained only after a thorough background search.