Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that if Medway radio station increases the number of call-in advice program, the number of radio listeners may increase, this author's argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that Rockville radio listeners are interested to the program, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, strong enough to lead to increase the number of call-in advice programs in Medway radio station.

The author mentions that the number of radio audiences in radio station WCQP in Rockville has increased significantly in the past two years because of call-in advice program, but the author does not give any information about statistic. There is no information about the total number of radio listeners in Rockville two years ago and the total number radio listeners now that can make a different perspective. For instance, imagine the total number of radio listeners in Rockville was a hundred two years ago with ten people interested in call-in service program, and the total number is two hundred now and the interested call-in audiences are forty people now. Thus, it does not show the significate increase.

Additionally, the author compares two different radio stations in two different regions, which is not logical. For example, Rockville may have more retired people who have time to listen to the radio and call for that program that can be reason for increased number of interests. On the other hand, Medway may have more young people who only have time to listen to the radio while they drive and do not have time to call-in. Thus, the number of interested listeners to the program will not increase in Medway. To strength his/her suggestion, the author needs to investigate about age and gender group of listeners.

Citing a national survey, the author reports radio listeners’ love of call-in program. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of the survey. For instance, there might be only few yes and no questions in that survey which cannot give us reliable results. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid, and reliable, it cannot be used to effectively back the author’s argument.

The author can make his/her suggestion persuasive when he/she gathers information about statistic number of increased listeners, age and gender of radio listeners in Rockville and Medway, and survey detailed questions. After answering these questions, he/she can make such a conclusion.