Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In the letter, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs to substantiate an audience share in its listening area. Although the recommendation seems convincing at first, the answered questions lead readers to conclude that the recommendation is fat-fetched in many aspects.

First, the author must provide the answer to the question whether there is a causation between the success of WCQP in Rockville studio and the increased number of call-in advice programs. It is possible that the increased audience share was not due to the call-in advice programs, but other external factors that happened to be coincident with the increase of the number of call-in advice programs. For example, the collapse of other competing radio station might possibly have resulted in the increase of the audience share of the WCQP station. The author must clarify whether these possible alternative pieces of scenario could be extirpated.

Second, more answers are needed on whether the success of the WCQP radio station is not an aberration but a sustainable long-term effect. As evinced in the recommendation, it has only been two-years since the WCQP radio station decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs. However, even though the aforementioned alluded causation is valid, it is also questionable whether the success of WQCP question will continue. Therefore, the effect of those programs on the audience share should be considered in the long run.

Last but not least, the author should also answer the question whether the intrinsic conditions between WCQP and KICK are the same. For instance, the location that each station broadcast is different from each other, and this geographical difference between those two stations can lead to the difference in the propensity of their audiences. It is possible that the audiences of the KICK station might not like, if not abhor, to listen call-in advice program, unlike those of the WCQP station or the respondents of the nationwide survey introduced in the recommendation.

In conclusion, the argument is unconvincing because of the lack of answers to the question of the validity of the causation between the success of the WCQP station and the increased number of call-in advice programs, the long-term effect of call-in programs on the success of the WCQP station, and the congruence of the inherent conditions of the two stations. Therefore, the author should elaborate his argument by answering these questions.