Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument recommends for increasing the number of audience share by including more call-in advice programs for the radio station. The suggestion depends upon several unstated questions and assumptions. In order to evaluate the authenticity of the suggestion, these questions have to be answered.

The author states that the radio station WCPQ in Rockville increased the number of call-in advice programs two years back. This adoption of new policy has resulted in the increase in number of audience listening to the station now. It might be certain that the introduction of more number of such programs has increased the listeners. However, the outcome of adopting the policy is measured after a span of around two years. This casts a doubt upon the authenticity of the implication of the policy. Two years is a considerable long time for any radio station to see change in number of audience. We do not know that the increase in listeners is due to the adoption of policy of some other relevant factors. It might be the case that, lately, the city of Rockville has seen a increase in the number of people settling down from different cities, or the rival or competitor has shut down the radio channels in the vicinity -leaving people only the option of listening to WCQP. We do not know the current scenario of the city and radio station. Therefore, the author needs to provide information regarding the immediate or short term affect of the adoption of policy to draw a valid claim.

Considering for once that the affect of the adoption of policy was delayed for some time, the author also states that since WCPQ in Rockville saw the increase in the number of listeners, so should KICK in Medway adopt the policy for similar outcomes. The author considers that adoption of one policy in a city is likely to produce the similar outcome in the city of Midway. Even if that has to be the case, the author needs to provide the similarity between the two cities, the nature and type of people who are willing to listen to such programs. It might be the case that people are not at all interested in the such programs, or they do not have enough time to listen to radio stations - because of the busy schedule. We just do not know. The author needs to lucidly provide the similarity between the two cities and its people, which will help in understanding the nature of the people of the two cities, this will help in taking deciding whether the recommendation has to be followed or not.

Furthermore, even if the two cities are considered to be similar, the author relies the conclusion on a nation-wide survey. The argument states that the survey also acclaims the increase in the people's interest for listening to call-in advice programs. We do not know the target audience of the survey, the age group of the people, and how many people of Midway were involved in the survey. Moreover, the content of the survey is also not specified in the argument. The survey might have asked people to vote among the call-in advice program and news. And people might have chosen the former because news might not be soothing to the people. The author needs to explicitly provide the detailed information regarding the survey. Having known the information about the survey it would become evident to draw a conclusion on the recommendation, because the survey's nature will reveal the actuality about the people of Midway, if at all involved.

The argument is rife with several assumptions and questions. The author needs to provide answers to the questions stated above in order to draw a conclusion.