A nation should require all its citizen to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The purpose of elementary education is to provide students with the basics and impart a thorough understanding of different fields. Therefore, it is beneficial for the student, university and nation to have a common curriculum for all the students, before a student enters college. However, the policy can affect the students from taking additional courses for primary school students.

A common national curriculum will help the student in understanding different subjects which he/she can fathom into during the college. Such a curriculum will help the student develop a firm base and prepare him for the future. The knowledge a student will gain during these pre-college period will help him in deciding the desired field he/she needs to pursue further as a career. A student who has studied a common curriculum- designed in such a way that it covers several of the horizontals like science, arts, mathematics, social sciences, music, etc. will have fairly decent knowledge about these fields. And, if later in his/her career he/she wants to choose, say, Mathematics, it will considerably help him/her choosing this field of study as his/her interest lies in the field, with having a slight understanding of all the subjects.

Not only a common curriculum is beneficial for student in choosing his/her major during college, it will also help the college and university for admission criteria. If the common curriculum is not being adopted as of now, the students will come from different educational background- which might make the universities biased to select the students who have taken extra courses, or the profound curriculum they have undertaken during high school. Since, it might be unfortunate for a student to select a school which does not offer a well established curriculum, a student might have to further struggle in getting admission into a university. A common curriculum will help the university in selecting the students on the basis of a common educational background, thus making the process more neutral and unbiased.

It is true that a common curriculum will help the students and universities in a great deal. But, there exists students who cannot afford high school fees, and thus, are left to attend basic primary public schools, with minimal subjects. If the practice of common curriculum is enforced upon these schools, the tuition fee of these schools will certainly rise-due to increase in number of courses. These students who find it extremely difficult to pay for the already existing tuition fee, will find it completely challenging to pay for the hefty tuition fee, after adoption of the new policy. And, for such cases adopting this policy might not prove beneficial.This might result into a situation that these financially deprived students might not be able to afford an education on their own, and which might result into social problems like illiteracy, if the population of these people is considerable. An added financial efforts from the government might be solution to the problem in supporting them financially for their education with the new curriculum.

The adoption of a common curriculum by the nation for all the school will help the students in understanding different horizontals of the field, and university be benefited for having a common scale for admission of students, a unbiased process. But, the primary schools might be affected by the adoption of this new policy, and additional support from the government may be required for the students of these primary school, if the policy is adopted.