It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The society of an individual portrays the personality the possess. People feel comfortable in the type of group or society that they choose for themselves, which ultimately define them. Therefore, social groups certainly helps in knowing about oneself. But, at times the cause or motive of being present in social group might not prove to be the same.

An individual may feel a persistent struggle in a society, if the person is not accompanied by his/her type of people. A homosexual, who has not proclaimed his sexuality in public, lives within the society of the straight people. He will enjoy the life with the straight people to an extend, however, he might not feel fully comfortable in the company of these heterosexuals. He will not be able to open up, because within he will remain an introvert. Moreover, he might feel that being friend to all the straight people, and none of his alike, may give him a sense of struggle to live. He would feel comfortable in the society of his alike, as being in such a society will help him understand himself in a much better way. He will feel a sense of freedom- which otherwise might have had been limited. He will learn about himself in a more profound way, when there is no limitations in the society or group.

Being in a group of like minded and alike people acclaims an individuals personality to the real world. However, if a person is associated with a social group does not necessarily signify that the person will possess the same personality or interest. An instructor helping the deprived people, suffering from a disease like AIDS will often meet people infected with such a deadly disease. This does not imply that the instructor is also suffering from the same disease. His motive and cause of joining the group of such people is different from the other people of the group. His duty is to rehabilitates the people in ameliorating the mental pain and stress the infected people go through. It might be true that his personality or thinking towards life might be affected being around such people. However, it is might be illusive to state that the person is infected with the disease, just because he often meets the people infected by such devastating disease.

A person belonging to a group might widely proclaim the interest of the people and helps in defining the personality. However, it depends upon the cause and motive of the people in joining a particular social group.