Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given prompt, the author concludes that workers of Leevile take fewer sick leaves than Masonton due to healt benefitsofthe relatively relaxed pace of life. The author arrives at this conclusion based on the fact that diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leevile than in Masonton. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated,weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Before we could determine to accept or reject the claim, these assumptions must be addressed.

First, the author solely attributes the health conditions to the fewer sick days by the workers of Leevile. The authors fails to take cognizance of other factors that might lead to people opting for sick levaes. All of us know that rather than taking unpaid leave, sick leaves are preferred. It is possible that citizens of Maonton might have numerous personal reasons that urge them to opt for sick leaves. Most people in cities have other engagements or priorities to attend. For example, a worker in a city is more likely to take sick leave to attend his/her child's annual day. It is highly likely that people of small town are more limited in financial constraints, thus limiting them on the liberity to take such leaves. If the above is true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument does not hold water.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the small town of Leevile is comparable to the large city of Masonton. Altough, they are just 50 miles apart, it is probable that both the locations are distinctly different. And the comparison is digressing. Perhaps, Leevile is much sparesly populated than Masonton, thus, leading to low levels of pollutions. This could provide much better environment to the people of Leevile than the city of Masonton. It is also possible that that climatic conitions are complementary. Leevile would be prone to severe chilly winters than Masonton. The climate is also a considerable factor to one's health. Other factors that contribute to health include the nature of work, health facilities, health awareness, etc. If either of the above has meit, then the argument is significantly flawed.

Finally, the authors fails to furnish the report that attribute the less diagnosis of stress-related illness in Leevile. It is unclear, however, the scope and validity of the report. It is possible that the sample would not have been the representative of the total population of Leevile. Unless the author provides us with the statistical data and also methodoly used in conducting this survey, we cannot verify the validity and reliability of the report. If the above is warranted, then the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Also, the author fails to develop an effective and plausible analogy between the sick days and stress free lifes of the people of the two cities. If the author is able to address the concerns stated above and perhaps provide peices of evidence to bolster his claim, it will be possible for us to fully evaluate the viability of the argument whether to attribute the reclutance to take sick leaves to the stress free lifes of workers of Leevile than the workers of Masonton.