A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given promnpt, the author concludes that the company should rescind further resources to the investigation. The author arrives at this conclusion based on the premise of a test, conducted by the company, resulting in a clean chit that all the chemicals used in pet food were approved. The conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, before could evaluate the arguments, these assumptions must be addressed.

First of all, it is stated that the company recalls 4 millions pounds of pet food in response to complaints. However, it not clear, 4 million accounts for what proportion of the total supplies? It is possible that company has supplies of over 10 million throughout the nation and only 4 million pounds attracted complaints. It may not have been the representitive of the whole pet food production. Therefore, we cannot affirm that the chemical used in pet food were necessarily approved, due to limited scope of the test. Also, the author fails to provide data regarding the number of complaints. If either of the above is warranted, then the conclusion drawn in the origianl argument does not hold water.

Secondly,the pet owners assumes that symptoms developed in their pets were solely due to the pet food they consumed. However, this might not be the case. It is highly likely that the pet would have consumed another obnixious material while on a walk. It is also possible that the pet would have contracted a viral flu that had developed symptoms such as vomiting, lethargy, etc. If the above is true, then argument is weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that the company conducted a fair and partial test on the pet food. Was the test conducted scientifically? The author fails to provide any scientific data or reports regarding the test. It is highly likely that the test could have been manipulated, as it is against their own product. Also, there is no third party agency or authority to govern the testing. Moreover, it is stated that only a few samples from the recalled food was tested. It may not have been the representitive of the whole pet food recalled. Unless, the author provides the scientifical lab reports of the test, the scope and reliability of the test canot be verified. If the above has merit, then the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the arguemnt as it stands now, is considerbaly flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to address the above stated assumptions and perhaps conduct a third party scientifical study, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the given argument.