Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The argument is about the woven baskets which previously been found in the village of palea and initially it was believed that that baskets were originally belongs to palea. but after the research of archaeologist found the same baskets in a village lithos which is across the river, which is wide and deep so the only way to cross is to use boats and no such boats were found in palean then the initial believe change to the new one that those baskets were not originally belong to Palean, and I am in favor of this argument.

Firstly , just because they were found in both place doesn't mean it cannot be found who originally own this art ,archaeologist by the argument it seems like they visited palean village first and then they visited the lithos village, as the argument mentioned that no boats were found in palean, so that doesn't mean boats are not present in lithos as well, it is totally possible that those baskets were initially made in Lithos and they were the original makers of those baskets, and it is also possible that they have boats and they transport the goods to the village of Palean.

Secondly , Human brain is so complex and so similar in thinking mechanism, if there is need of a need product in market and a some people got attention to this need and they start thinking to solve that problem, it is totally possible that some of the people will come up with exactly same idea regardless of where they live or they know each other , that proves that most of the human brain work with same mechanism . so, it is also possible that there was a need of this baskets to carry items in it and people try to find the solution for this product and both the people (people of lithos and people of palean) came up with same idea and they built the same product even if they don't know them personally. it is completely possible that those baskets were made first by either palean or Lithos, this doesn't make that much of difference because there were is no clear picture that boats were found in either of the villages, from which the idea could be stolen of making those basket.

In conclusion it is totally possible that only lithos have boats to do trading across the river, or both people of villages figure out the way to make those baskets. As there is not much information about who made the basket first or Lithos had boats or not.