To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

The issue here is about knowing the important things of a society, one must consider to study its major cities, and I disagree.

Firstly, it is not appropriate to just study the major cities of a society, to understand the culture or characteristics. Because in some society which is popular for something or stand unique for others, it is totally possible that immigrants come to live there rest of lives in that city just because they love their culture and if one wants to study the society then the data collected by that individual might not be relevant and most probably it would be mixture of other society because of immigrants, for instance if one want to study Maharashtra a state of India and he/she just studied the major cities of this state which is Mumbai, if that individual collects the data of Mumbai then the data on which whole state is going to represented is not quite right, because in Mumbai there are 80% immigrants for North India came here for jobs. Then in this case that individual who is studying this characteristic should also take some villages where the culture of Maharashtra is alive where there are no or less immigrants available, place like where there is no special tourist attraction.

Secondly, take example of Germany, if one wants to study the culture and important characteristics of Germany and he/she choses to just explore the main hub of that country, then they are going to have some faulty data. because, for instance, in Germany people in cities behave more differently as compare to the people who are living in country side. the people in cities are less welcoming and people in country side are more welcoming.

Inconclusion, to know the culture of the society and important characteristics one must choose to explore both major cities as well as non-major cities. in my opinion one must consider to give more time to non-major cities as compare to major cities.