Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the author's argument, it is stated that the Palean basket pattern is not unique to only Palean. The author has come to this conclusion based on the discovery of the basket with the same pattern found in Lithos, the obstacle of Brim river, and the lack of evidence of Palean boat. However, before this argument can be appropriately evaluated, three evidence is needed.

First of all, it is possible that Brim river has changed since Palea village time. In other words, the depth and width of the may not be the same at the time the author was writing this argument. It is possible that Brim river during Palea era did not be too broad and too deep to cross without a boat, or Brim river was dried out while in a drought period. Further, it is plausible that there are geographical pieces of evidence around Brim river area that show the river width and depth in chronological order. If the evidence is found, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is weakened.

Secondly, Lithosian may be able to build a boat that can cross the Brim river. The evidence of Palean capability to build a boat is not yet found, so both Lithos and Palea will never be able to trade the basket. However, it might not be the case. Perhaps, Lithosian is the one who is capable of building a boat and be able to transport the basket to their village. If the Lithosian boat is found, then the argument does not hold the water.

Lastly, Lithos and Palea village may have shared the same ancestor. There is a possibility that the ancestor of both Palean and Lithosian is the one who concocts the Palean basket pattern so both of them can make it – without being able to cross the river to trade. DNA comparison between Palean and Lithosian may answer the origin of both tribes. If the DNA test result shows that they have a shared ancestor, then the author's assumption will be weakened.

In conclusion, as it stands now, it is considerably flawed due to its reliance on weak evidence and unwarranted assumptions. If the author can find the counter-evidence to evidence as shown above (perhaps in the form of geographical evidence and systematic archaeologist research), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument to prove that the Palean basket pattern is not unique.