Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean, the author’s argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand how the author came about their conclusion, but the argument is quite shallow and rife with assumptions, and thus not strong enough to conclude that the baskets were not exclusively created by the Paleans.

The author assumes that because no boats have been found in relationship with the Paleans, the Palean people couldn’t have crossed the Brim River as the current evidence available points to them not being a seafaring people. This is a rather weak statement. For example, what if a boat is discovered within the vicinity of Palea in the future. It also does not acknowledge the idea of commerce between the people of Lithos and Palea, as the Paleans may have simply sold these baskets to the other villages within their region, Lithos included.

The author also fails to consider the possibility that the people of Lithos could have provided the Paleans with a means of crossing the river if they indeed had no boats of their own. This augments the previously stated idea of commerce between these villages, as there would have surely been a way by which goods purchased were ferried across the river.

Additionally, the author does not consider changes in the region’s geography over time. The now brim river could have been narrower and shallower during the era of the Paleans, thereby eliminating the need for boats. Also take into consideration, a bridge which may have long since been worn away by the elements. This point can also be considered in the case of the boats which may have been used by the Paleans, which may simply have been deteriorated by time and nature, or simply buried deep under the riverbed.

Based on the reasons above, the authors argument is lacking and not satisfactory enough to conclude that the baskets did not originate with the Paleans.