89. Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The purpose of law is to justify morality and lead the society towards uniform flourishment and virtuousness; and the mission of legal system is to illuminate somehow esoteric laws to the public and practice them to the ambiguous reality. Since most problems of modern society derive from moral depravity and conflicts between separate culture and religion, namely dissensions between separate ethics. Laws and the legal system can solve them by setting an obligatory standard and explain why it is the most justified and prudent. Granted that people’s hearts and minds are hard to change, mutual understanding is achievable by the guidance of laws, for they have the power to transform people’s moral certitude. For example, a law against revenge will stir up the examination on the propriety of vengeance.

Laws and the legal system can form an environment in which people can pursue welfare and virtuous without worrying being exploited by the malevolent and decadent. Selfishness is human nature. Though the belief in religion can relent the evil impulses, the encroachment of commercialization and the inveteracy of original sin still constitute the tendency to depravity. In 2004, a hurricane attacked Florida. Some merchants in the afflicted area seized the opportunity out of their business acumen, raising the price of commodities by at least ten times. Their minds were so warped by the fetish for wealth that they even decided to capitalize on people’s hardship and misery. No wonder that many Floridians were aggravated by the inflated prices and sued those greedy merchants. Since Florida has a law against price gouging, most verdicts were in the plaintiff’s favor. Although the inflation of price of this kind are vehemently defended by economists on the name of free markets, the motives that embodied the despicable avarice is intolerable by law. So next time in an analogous circumstance, inflation will not occur, for prudence will tell those businessmen not to take the risk to violate laws and degrade themselves by manifesting their greediness. When the society is filled with incentives to entice people to the hell of decadence, when the powerless people become the prey of miscreants, laws and the legal system are the most effectual means to protect the innocent and lead the society to order and virtuousness.

Laws and the legal system indicate what the society values, thus provide opposite camps a hint to achieve mutual understanding. Same-sex marriage is one the most contentious problem of modern society. It represents the conflicts between conservative Christians and liberals. But in the thoughtful and nuanced opinion written by Marshall, chief justice of Massachusetts Supreme Court, in the same-sex marriage case, the reason why the state admit same-sex marriage is unequivocally explained. She pointed out that the essence of marriage is the deeply personal commitment to another human being and a lightly public celebration of the idea of mutuality, companionship, intimacy, fidelity, and family. Since same-sex marriage unarguably complies with the given idea, it should be permitted by the government. Such a sound opinion will render most opponent ceasing of themselves. Granted that they may still cleave to their religious belief, but their prudence will tell them to accept that sentiment instead of being injudicious. A country is inevitably awash with conflicting thoughts; and they can hardly subside by themselves. So laws and the legal system have the obligation to mediate in the disputes and prevent confliction from escalating.

In the perspective of economists, laws and stringent law enforcement can promote mutual trust and thus economy and citizens’ welfare. The deficiency of trust among society is perhaps the bleakest fact in the modern society. Although people get materially wealthier, the loss of trust is agonizing and hard to repair. The harshness of laws and its enforcement deter the evil and reassure citizens with comfort, for they know the others will conform with rules they all approve of. Many former colonies are still stuck in poverty despite that they have been modernizing for decades. Defective law enforcement elicits bribery and corruption; and ensues the distrust on governments and companies. Statistics have shown if there are two communities identical in almost all respects, higher productivity appears in the community where its members trust each other. People in such community are more willing to invest and consume with their income, so the society as a whole accumulates more capital.

Laws and the legal system form an environment that encourages mutual understanding, trust and virtuousness, in which people can enjoy a safer and more carefree life. They are not only the necessary evil of modern society but also the means to solve societal problems and promote welfare for the society at large.