Why Go to University

Since the educational resources have been enriching in the past few decades, it is much easier for a high school graduate to enter a university. In the meantime, further studying in a university is perceived by parents to be the most promising way towards an economically advanced career. As a result, many students are stuffed in universities without deliberating why go to university. Inquiring into this very problem now becomes an exigent mission for every student who wonder where is his next stop after graduation.

The diversity of knowledge a university offers helps students find their life goal. A university is so comprehensive an aggregation that it incorporates faculties of copious disciplines. The major one chooses in university will in a great measure dictate his future life, for his future profession is closely related to the major. It is painful to practice something unenjoyable for decades after suffering four years in university, combating with a subject he loathes. During the period in university, a student can get access to plenty of disciplines and then figure out which subject can gratify and accompany himself along his life.

Universities offer the resource and environment with which student can polish themselves more than a diploma or a degree. It is the capacity horned and the knowledge mastered in university that is actually the invaluable harvest as well as the eternal wealth, to which a diploma is merely an adjunct. After the student picks his major, the university can provide the best environment for him to explore the realm of knowledge, with an invigorating atmosphere in which he can debate with others so as to form a more profound understanding to what he has learned. Equipped with knowledge and capacity, one can find his stage in the society, and achieve self-actualization by endeavoring to make a successful career.

That being educated in a university can lead one to a higher position in the societal hierarchy where he can receive more respect and further elevate himself mentally and sociologically. According to Maslow’s hierarchy of human needs, mankind needs esteem and approval after basic needs like safety is fulfilled. It explains why people go to university instead of a training school. In a university, students learn arts and sciences which requires more advanced intelligence; and through learning which they are manifesting and developing mankind’s unique ability, comprehension and deliberation. It is absolutely not the same case when someone is merely studying skills in a training school, which is basically a matter of proficiency. When a university graduate enters the society, they gain more respect, which means they have a higher status. While contacting with people in the higher hierarchy, one can be more sophisticated and hence learned how to promote himself. A professor can end up being the president of his faculty. A staff in a company can end up being a manager of his department. Since men become more mature when burdened with responsibility, university provides students with more chance towards maturity by guiding them towards a higher societal hierarchy.

University is not merely a way towards employment, but a place where one can find the beacon of life, develop himself intellectually, and afterwards pursue the ultimate goal of being a full-grown man. It is indeed the best option for an eighteen-year-old to spend his most precious time of his life in a university, had he got the idea to fulfill himself.