94 The effectiveness of a country s leaders is best measured by examining the well being of that country s citizens Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position

Whether the health of a country’s citizens most appropriately measures the effectiveness of its leaders is a bone of contention. The prompt suggests that it is the best of measures for judging leaders’ effectiveness. However, in my opinion, the well-being of the citizens partially indicates the latter, and hence, cannot be declared as the “best” measure. The reasons for such perspective are due to two reasons, depending on the contexts in which the statement can be tested.

The statement holds value when we consider the aspects of maintaining rules and regulations in a hospital. For example, in 2023, Dr. Sanjukta Saha, a renowned gynae in Bangladesh in Central Hospital, Dhaka, was held responsible for surreptitiously using another junior doctor for operating on a pregnant mother, due to her stay abroad at that time. The patient’s family members were not informed of the occurrence, and the event led to the mother’s death. This was possible due to inattention to maintaining rigid rules and regulations regarding surgeries and communication in the hospital, which are supposed to be monitored by government officials, that is, leaders in the government health sector. One can say that it is the responsibility of the hospital management to maintain the regulations. However, it is under the jurisdiction of government health officials to develop a policy and implement it in reality.

On a varying note, the statement in the prompt fails to hold water if we take a look at the current dengue-situation in Bangladesh. Mortality rate from dengue has soared high never like before. One of the main reasons for prolific dengue mosquito reproduction is unclean environment, which has to be ensured by each household. With a population of 170 million in the country, it is not feasible for the government health sector leaders to visit each household for monitoring and evaluation. All they can do is to make the policies, develop the regulations for maintaining an environment that does not encourage dengue spread. The rest of the responsibility actually lies in the hands of the citizens themselves. Cleanliness and awareness about the situation are necessary to remedy this terrible dengue endemic. Critics of this view can point fingers at the government officials for not spreading enough mosquito repellants in each neighborhood. However, if we look at the culture of Bangladeshi citizens, and realise that they have a tendency to consistently keep their surrounding unclean, which cannot be remedied by any government, no matter how diligent in their duty they are.

To sum it up, the suggested statement in the prompt is a matter of convoluted reasoning and hence difficult to have a partisan overview of the situations. It is both the responsibility of the government leaders and the citizens themselves to keep their wellbeing intact.