Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations provided they operate within the law is to make as muc

Whether corporations have it on their shoulder to contribute to the good state of societies and environments, or make the maximum profit possible within their functioning jurisdiction, is debatable. The prompt presents both sides of the coin. In my opinion, corporate houses should be able to produce outcomes that simultaneously improves the wellbeing of the society and the natural environment, and the income level of its stakeholders. There can be two reasons for such neutral stand point.

No corporate house can function without its human resource, which also the society constitutes of; and without the wellbeing of the human resource, the corporation is likely to stagger and fall apart. For example, during COVID-19, the management body of Hotel InterContinental, Dhaka, Bangladesh overlooked the importance of taking preventive measures laid out by WHO, resulting in a large number of its employees to contract the virus. More employees fell ill and took sick-leaves, undermining the productivity of the Five-Star Hotel, leading to a consequent fall of earnings and profits in their business. As a knock-on-effect, many employees were laid off. This example is pertinent due to the fact that when corporations ignore the responsibility of promoting the health of its human resources, it can backfire and cause the organization a major disaster. If they are to remain responsible for their flourish, promoting the health of its employees is indispensable.

The same theory of backfire applies to the situation where corporations pollute the environment. If the immediate environment, like air, around a textile factory is polluted by the smokes the chimneys create, its own employees can contract acute respiratory infections, reducing their productivity, and consequently reducing the money the factory makes.

It is also imperative that the corporations should make as much money as possible, to protect the business and its employees. This is because when employees earn more, they can be more motivated to serve that corporation. Furthermore, the more the profits, the more that corporate house can contribute to the economic growth of the country the corporation is a part of. When the economic growth is flourishing, the corporate house itself can benefit from the situation. Hence, to reap its own benefits, the corporation should equally be responsible to have a profit motive. Otherwise, the business cannot be sustained.

To sum it up, the issue is complex and a partisan view cannot be possessed, since both the responsibility to promote social and environmental wellbeing, and to raise its profit are central to the progress and flourish of the corporate itself.