GRE Issue Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reason

Every year, each university in the USA receives and accepts hundreds of international applications from graduate students around the world, specially the least developed countries. The subsequent academic pathway of these students could be smoothened if they had at least one semester of internship in the country of their choice. The prompt recommends that universitites make it mandatory for its students to spend a semester in a foreign nation. I strongly agree to the notion, since the student can be benefitted in the following manner.

An international graduate student studying in a foreign university faces numerous non-academic problems, like cultural shock, which could be cushioned if he or she had a previous exposure to the same conditions. For instance, a number of international students in USA from Bangladesh wrote about their experience in the group “NexTop Higher Study in USA” which is a Bangladeshi community of both Bangladeshi graduates in USA and aspiring Bangladeshi students targeting USA as their country of choice for higher studies. All of them wrote about cultural shock they went through and the amount of time they needed to get accustomed to the change. This experience is relevant for supporting the argument suggested in the prompt, since research asserts that previous familiarity with an environment helps reduce the intensity of shock received from it. If the students had an opportunity to visit the country of their academic choice before they officially attend that foreign country, a three to four month of exposure (the duration of a semester) can highly familiarize the student with the upcoming “adversity” and can take proper precautions to prevent any unintended outcome like lower than expected cumulative grade point average in their graduate exam.

People skeptical to the idea of universities sending their pupils to a foreign country can try to dismantle the above argument by bringing in the counter-argument of the extra monetary burden that both the student and the institution have to carry on their shoulder to complement the travel and stay. However, the expansion of knowledge that takes place in Bangladesh and abroad through the contribution of these migrating graduates, leads to a world of better understanding in any subject matter, which outweighs the temporary financial call. As cultural shock is known to hamper academic outcomes, a semester of study in the foreign nation of the student’s choice can greatly help achieve better results and wider recognition of Bangladeshi individuals in the academic arena.