"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies ac

The passage is based on a number of questionable assumptions. This response will illude to some of these assumptions and will explain why they render the presented argument unpersuasive.

Firstly, the memo starts by claiming that fewer people have attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. No significance can be inferred from this statement alone. One the one hand, it could be true that over a period of 50 years the number of visitors has never been lower than the past year and that the past year is a 50% drop relative to the previously lowest year, giving further evidence that there is indeed a problem to be solved. On the other hand, it could also be the case that the company only has been extant for three years. In the first year they had 100 visitors, in the second year 101 visitors and last year 99 visitors. In this scenario last year would also the year with the lowest ever number of customers, but this would hardly be a problem and no actions whould have to be taken. In order for the memo to convincingly show that there is a significant problem regarding a drop in attendance, more detailed facts and figures should be referred to.

Secondly, even if this fist assumption turns out to be true and there has been a significant drop in customers, the explanation offered by the memo as to why this is the case is not convincing. It is stated that the decrease in visitors is attributed to a lack of publicity, but there are many alternative explanations which are also plausible and which have not even been mentioned, let alone convincingly refuted.

For example there could have been a recession in the local economy last year, resulting in a decreased spending power of the customer base. In this case all movie companies, regardless of the quality of their movies or their respective publicity, would have been likely to experience declining attendance.

Another scenario would be, that the quality of the movies produced by the competitors has increased even more. In this case the public could be aware of the increased quality of Super Screeen movies, but nevertheless chose to watch other movies instead, since their quality has increased even more. The passage provides no information on wider state of the movie market, which is necessary for the claims to be validated.

If instead of the stated explanation any of the above explanations are the case, increasing the advertising budget would be ineffective. The argument would be strengthened, if it precluded such alternative explanations.

Finally, the proposition is made that the advertising budged should be increased to reach out to the public. However, no evidence is provided that such an increase in the budget would be effective. Is advertisement the best way to reach out to the prospective viewers? Have their been past examples of effective advertisements campains? Is the advertising department not reaching out effectively because of a lack of funding or because of other reasions, such as the lack of quality staff? Questions such as these have to be answered to substantiate the effectiveness of the proposed solution.