"In any enterprise, the process of making or doing something is ultimately more important than the final product."

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion expressed above. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations, or reading.

The claim that in any enterprise, the process of making or doing something is ultimately more important than the final product, plays on the idea that in many situations the spirit in which something is done is pivotal. This idea is familiar to most people. In this statement I will argue that, while in most cases the process is a necessary precondition for a good product, ultimately it is the product itself, which is more important, rather than the process by which it is produced.

An argument in favor of process oriented thinking, which at first glance seems convincing, can be illustrated very well by an every day situation most people are familiar with: going to the hair dresser. If the process of getting your hair cut is unpleasant then you are more likely to be unhappy with the overall result. On the contrary, if you had a pleasant conversation and the overall experience was enjoyable, one would be willing to pay a higher price. This principle is transferrable to most services. Similarly, if one goes to the doctor it is not only important that the final outcome is satisfactory, but also that one feels well advised and being taken care of by competent staff. While at first glance, this seems to be a strong argument for more process oriented thinking, I would argue that in a service situation the way in which something is done is part of the product, since it is part of the customer experience. Other aspects of the process which are not part of the customer experience, but part of the process leading up to delivering the service, are not usually considered by customers to be important. For example I would not care if my hair dresser is in a poor mood, in the afternoon when he/she is cleaning up the shop, even though this is certainly part of the process. Therefore, only aspects of the production process which can be attributed directly to the consumer experience are relevant, because they are part of the product itself.

Another easily undermined argument in favor of the importance of processes is that processes often are determining the extent of external effects, which are often taken into account by customers. For example if a piece of clothing is produced with the use of child labour. The negative external effects on the children having to work in a factory are somewhat taken into account by customers, if the information is known to the customer, and the customer as a result is less likely to buy the product. However, there are many situations, where despite the process of generating a product causing adverse external effects, such a the environmental impacts of the mining of precious metals needed for the production of consumer electronics, consumers still purchase these products in abundance. I would argue that if the quality of a product is truly superior to the quality of its rival products most consumers do not care enough about the negative aspects of the production process for their consumption decision to be affected by it. To illustrate this point by a large scale phenomena: I can hardly imagine why every year billions of animals are killed in Europe alone, if the process of producing a product, in this case meat, was more important than the product itself. If the process was more important, surely no one would eat meat.

To me it seems to be clear that, the process by which a product is produced is important, since consumers care about them to some extent, but the qualities of the product itself are even more important. Who after all would by a product produced with an impeccable process, but for which there is no use?