The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

It is widely acknowledge that competition is an integral part of the system around which most societies are shaped around. In a free market economy, in democratic politics and even amungst NGOs there is intense competition between players. But is this fact beneficial for society? This essay will argue that in order to best prepare young people for leadership positions in our society we should put more emphasis on cooperation, rather than competition.

Many of todays most urgent problems seem to be caused by competition. One example is climate change. While everyone is aware on what actions are needed to mitigate the impact of man made changes to the global climate - even children have grasped the issue by now, as can be seen from the regular demonstrations around the globe (#fridaysforfuture) - it seems like competition between the key players makes them unwilling to reach compomises and make consessions. This competitiveness amongst key players leads to a systemic deadlock, which can only be solved by cooperation on all levels.

On a global level no country is willing to pass radically climate friendly legislation, since it would put its economy at a slight disadvantage compared to rival nations. However, if all nations would pass that same legislation, there would no disadvantage to any one nation. This example illustrates that what is needed from future leaders are skills, which will help us achieve such agreements, to overcome competition and the single most important skill for exactly this purpose is the capacity for cooperation.

On a local economic level this dynamic can be illustrated with the hypothetical example of to rival coal plants. Neither of the coal plants is willing install costly greenhouse gas filters, because it would cost money and put them at a competitive disadvantage relative to the rival coal plant. It is obvious that the solution to this problem is not more competition, which itself is the cause of the problem, but increased cooperation. If the two rival plants ageed to both install the filter systems, neither would be disadvantaged and it would improve the sitiuation for society for the better. This example also shows that we need future leaders to have the capacity to put more emphasis on cooperation, in order for them to be able to takle the problems of the future.

More generally it can be said that an increased capacity for cooperation, instead of competition, for future leaders would increase our ability as a society to tackel most free-ride problems.

Furthermore, a mode for selecting leaders leads in industry and politics which puts too much emphasis on competition leads to undesirable consequences. Individuals who reach powerful positions will tend to be more selfish. For someone to reach the top after long competitive struggles to get there, they need a certain drive. A drive which is usually associated with selfishness. However, selfish leaders do not act in the interest of society as a whole. We want leaders which take decisions which are best for all of us and not based on what is best for them. The best way to achieve that is by selecting our leaders based on their capacity to cooperate.

Of course competition has not only lead to negative outcomes. It has also been the source of many very positive developments. The competition between two coal plants for example leads to the plants becoming more and more efficient for example. But what we experience more and more are the negative sides of this competitivenes.

To conclude, future leaders need to have an increased sense of cooperation, such that they act more in the interest of society as a hole .