An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Yes, to the maximum extent I stand by the statement and I recommend this system to be applied in the medical field as well. This is not any new system these days in this world which runs on similar rating system for every minute thing on daily basis.

From the starting of the day, people order their daily goods from these suppliers like Big basket or Grofers and they keep giving reviews about the items they received for a better supply on the next day. If the quality doesn't seem to improve for multiple days they shift to the alternate option with a better service. This applies to the orders on food on Zomato or Swiggy, Accessories that are ordered on Amazon or Snapdeal or some random online apps which have an alternative.

When people are so particular about where to eat food from or where and which phone to buy from based on the reviews of the older users or based on the quality and history of the item, they are in every way deserving to select a doctor to get their issue treated based on his/her record of treating a similarly affected patient.

Usually, people from all these days didn't have access to any such data about a particular medical assistant's previous records to judge whether the doctor is competent enough to treat a medical condition or not. Their only chance of making such judgement is if some patient, who is an acquaintance, who has been treated by that doctor before gives a positive report on his service. This can sometimes be misleading. What if he the only one out of five patients who got treated well when somewhere around ten such patients approached for the same problem. There is a chance that there can be a doctor who treated 9/10 patients well which is obviously a better record. Same applies for the vice-versa.

Also, there are some issues that can cause a problem because of such access. To properly utilize such condition, the medical condition must first be assessed well. If the assessment is not made correctly based on all the dependent factors, there is no logic in approaching a doctor for treating that improperly assessed medical condition. Certainly, this doesn't make any sense when the problem is from a kidney issue and someone approaches a orthopedician of great reputation as he judged it to be a problem caused by his spine.

One more problem about such issue is the one with better ratings or better treatment history might make it a business of treating people as he can demand higher consultancy fee and other treatment related fares with higher increase in demand for that particular doctor.

Excluding few minor conditions, this can well bring awareness about the doctor to make a judgement on his previous.