An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Too often we rely on the doctor's treatment of other patients with similar disease to guess whether the doctor could treat the disease right in the past, so that he could do it even now. It often happens that the we are recommended a certain doctor by our kin. The assertion states that an ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients which may help the patient to gauge the doctor's competancy to treat that medical condition. I partially agree with the above claim.

On being aware of the doctor's record of similarly afflicted patients we can analyze which doctor can provide us a better treatment. Consider ,You have got arthritis and friend of yours recently suffered from Arthritis. He narrated his experience which sound like bad one as he had to go from one doctor to another as his condition was not improving. It might have happened that some doctors were not able to provide him the correct treatment. Now, if you already know which doctor's treatment he found useful and which one was not effective you can avoid going to that doctors and go to the ones who are better. Hence you can get a better treatment and recover soon.

However, you cannot be certain always that the treatment that worked for some patient may work for you too. It might happen that by analyzing some past records of a doctor related to a certain disease whose treatment you are searching for, you found a doctor whose treatment was effective for large number of patients. Consider, for example, you are suffering from a disease named 'Gangrene', Now there are several reasons for the disease. One of which is diabetes and other is some infection. Now, your friend had Gangrene caused due to some infection and he found a certain doctor's treatment useful. But if you are searching for a doctor who deals with Gangrene caused by diabetes you may not find the same doctor helpful in treating your case. But since it helped your friend you are inclined towards consulting the same doctor. The same treatment may not work out for you. Hence, knowing previous records of a doctor didn't benefit you here.

Therefore, we can say that knowing a doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients may benefit you in some cases while not in the others. It might also lead at times to delayed recovery from disease by getting into an incorrect treatment. Or it may also lead to stopping the growth of a certain disease due to proper treatment at early stage itself. Hence, we can conclude that knowing records of a doctor's treatment of a similar disease may at times help to know the competancy of a doctor to treat that medical condition provided the patient has a similar medical history as yours or the causes of disease are similar.