An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Should an ailing patient have access to his or her doctors records of treating similar cases? I am of the position that this is not something that should be done by the patient as though ailments may seem similar but every patient is unique and thus the effect of an ailment on the patient is also unique and past doctors records should not be used to judge him as regards that case. i will also give reasons why it is also good to check a doctors past records.

I am fully in support of patients not checking medical records odoctors, because every case is diffent. A lot of times doctors have come up with new treatment of ailments that they have never treated before. Breaktrhough methods of treating ailments. Medicine is an innovative science and new ways of treatment are thought of every day. see the story of Ben Carson the big neuro surgeon in America, he was the first person to do surgical seperation of siamese twins that were joined in the brain. that was a breakthrought and new way of treatment and thank to heavens that he was not judged by the fact that he had not done that before.

If for example a patient is having an emergency that needs immediate treatment or else it it will lead to death in this situation a patient doesnt have the time to be aasking for a a doctors records. If a patient is having heart issues that is a very seriou emergency that need immediate first aid treatment, there is no time to to be asking questions.

Each treatment of an ailment is tailored specially to the patient so even if a doctora has a wealth of experience on that ailment its not guarantee that he will be successful in the next case.so there is no need to check past records.

the patient needs to understand that every case is unique, even if two patients have the same ailments they will both be affected in differnt ways so just because a doctor treated patient 'a' and he died and another doctor treated patient 'b' and he survived does not make the patient 'a' doctor a worse doctor. Diferent people have differnt bodies and they all respond to treatments differnently so this is not enough to judge a doctors competence.

But if a patient goes ahead to check a doctors history of treating a specific ailment and notices that the doctors rate of failure in that particular case is high then that is an indicator that he may not be a very good at treating that particular ailment and in this case i support this patient decision to access these reords. Checking his records may be good for knowing the doctors level of experience on that particular ailment.

In Conclusion Patients dont need to check the experience of doctors in particualr ailments because indivual response to treatmenta are differnt and doctors treat different cases speciacifaally tailored to the case, and also in the case of an emergency it is not time to be checking records. But some times checking records can give some validiity about the doctors expertise.