An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Additionally, the old addage that you can't improve what you don't measure is also true in this case. Just the mere fact that a doctors performance and success rate is not only going to be measure but made public is also incentive enough to make a medical profession be at his very best with every patient he or she treats. It also evens the playing field for less affluent or well known patients as every patient's vote or ranking of the doctor's performance counts the same, so the doctor is motivated to give his or her best to every patient.

It should also be noted, that practice leads to improvements in just about any field. As a doctor is continually scored positively in the treatment of a particular type of illiness, his or her popularity and patient list will grow in that area, leading to more opportunties to perfect the treatment of that particulare illiness. This allows the doctor to more finely hone his skills in this one area and specialize in this area. A doctor who has seen a plethora of different cases in one field is less likely to mis-diagnose someone with this issue. She will also better understand the nuances of the different ways the illiness can present and react to treatment which is helpful to avoid wasted time and energy on treatments that would work as effectively.

One could argue that having all the doctors past records be available to the public is a violation of the doctor's privacy and that of his other patients. It is however very easy to keep the names and identifying information of each patient private which takes care of the past patient concerns. On the privacy of the doctor or the fact that some patients may embellish the truth, the doctor can always be given an opportunity to give a response to every record or ranking given by a patient.

When life and health is at stake, it is definitely best to give a patient the maximum information needed for them to best decide who they would like to trust to care for their medical needs. Transparency leads to more open and honest dealings on the part of the medical professionals and will leaded to greater specialization which creates a great body of experience and a higher level of performance with time.